According to the federal government, the U.S. South includes Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. This definition of “southern” is significant insofar as it determines the governing bodies to which particular higher education in prison programs must answer (e.g. the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, or SACSCOC). On a less formal basis, prison and department of corrections officials, as well as legislators and other policy makers, are more likely to consider replicating programs and practices of their regional peers. Therefore, there is specific value in information sharing and strategizing within the region.